Post shoot thoughts

This shoot went smoothly and the end result of the shoot was what I had hoped for. I got the shots that I had planned for and the experimentation with different lenses was fun and produced better outcomes than I had previously expected.

For the shoot, I hadn’t planned too much of what I was going to shoot. I knew that I wanted some black colourama shots and most of them to be with colour. I planned what props that I was going to use, but I left much of it to experimentation and to see what would happen on the day. This may not generally be the best approach but as product photography isn’t something that I had done much or any of in the past, I thought that it would work. It did work.

The assistant Joseph was very helpful, he was relaxed and calm and helped in all the ways I needed him to. The shoot went a lot smoother than I expected which meant that I got to try out plenty of different styles and angles for each of the coffee machines that I shot.

Positives were the ease of working with him during the shoot and making it enjoyable and more productive. The main negatives were communication and technical issues that were not his fault. We struggled to meet up in person to discuss the shoot which might have hindered some of the productivity but the end result was what I wanted so these didn’t matter me.

Communication was poor in my opinion. I wasn’t brilliant at keeping him up to date on what was going on before the shoot and it lead to some technical issues not being resolved sooner than they should have been. I think we should have put aside more time to meet up in person.

Here are some of the shots from the shoot. They came out very clean and simple which is what I wanted to achieve.

 

Saturday supplement8116Saturday supplement8184Saturday supplement8236

Leave a comment