Music Video inspiration

Here are some videos that I have been looking at over the last few weeks to help me with ideas and general inspiration. There are some that I know from before and that I am a general fan of, and others that I have found through looking and searching the web.

Screen Shot 2019-05-13 at 17.02.14This video by Future Islands is quite interesting to me. It is one that I just came across whilst looking for good visual style videos. The jerky animation that isn’t perfect appeals to me as it is creative and fun. It seems like anyone could have made it and it is relatable in that aspect. It would be something to play with and adapt to my own style and the song that I have chosen.

Screen Shot 2019-05-13 at 16.55.01This is from Jacob Banks – Unknown. I like the simplicity of this video, just creating the style and atmosphere of the song. It is very Erie and beautiful in my opinion. The empty pool works well as a location for the song and what it is about.

Screen Shot 2019-05-13 at 16.45.54This is a frame from Gosh by Jamie XX – one that I knew of but hadn’t watched fully. It is a very surreal music video, quite fitting to go with the song as it is repetitive and not so tuneful for the most part. The weird story and almost dystopian nature of the song is something that I really enjoyed watching, along with the symmetry and circular motion of the video. This is a very high budget video and is something that I could not really replicate, but there are aspects that I can take from it and the style that it is shot in. Screen Shot 2019-05-13 at 16.43.24Lastly this is from the video by Bicep – glue. The video is very simple, and photographic, which is something that I would want to play with and take inspiration from. It is very industrial and slow, indicative of the song and they go hand in hand. As far as videos go, this is one of my favourite. They use text to go along with the video to create a narrative.

Leave a comment