Liverymen pancake race

This was a great event that was a lot of fun to shoot. It was the Liverymen who are heads of unions of sorts for people like glove makers, clock makers, bakers and green-grocers. It took part in Guildhall square which was an area that I had never been to but was a great setting for the event. The people taking part were dressed un in gowns of their respected livery and had to wear a chefs hat. The pancake race was about 150m long and they had to flip the pancake twice in selected areas once on the way forward and once on the way back.

This was a good event that lent itself to great shots and there was a good variety in subject, with there also being a fancy dress side to the event. This being said there were a few things that could have helped me to get some better shots. These would be bringing a longer lens as I was limited to a 85mm and 35mm lens which I have used throughout the whole project and idea since the sony competition. Also what might have helped me would have been trying to get in contact with the event organisers in order to get myself in a more advantageous area to get the pictures. This being said I think it is interesting and challenging to work with these sports as a spectator like everyone else and limit myself on lenses for sake of consistency, but I think in future I will bring a 70-200 where I see necessary.

Here are some pictures from the day.

DSC_3542DSC_3564DSC_3591DSC_3596DSC_3894DSC_3661DSC_3710DSC_3948DSC_3599

Leave a comment