Hayahisa Tomiyasu TTP

This is a book that I saw on Mack Books website that really interested me in concept, taking the same shot out of the same window at all different times of the year. Coming back to the same place and realising how differently people can use a space. The framing is all the same and the table tennis table is always in the same spot but thats the only similarity between the photos. I love how you get a glimpse into peoples lives and how people can use a space with one single use intended but people using it for much more. It is a fun and light hearted subject just offering an observation made by the photographer. You can imagine him sitting watching the world go by there as a past time before realising there was an interesting take on it and how it could work as a photo story. Enjoying watching people use it for hanging out, exercise, eating, the possibilities are endless.

For me I like the repetitiveness of it, like the sports I have shot people are doing the same thing but everyone will do it different. I could sit at the same spot for every pic but the outcome wouldn’t be the same.

Here are some of the pictures from the book that I liked

Leave a comment